Serendipitous Business

Serendipity just sounds great.  Add it to the events of your day and the results come out great, too!

Serendipity : an  aptitude  for  making  desirable  discoveries  by  accident – (Coined by Horace Walpole, from the Persian fairytale The Three Princes of Serendip, in which the heroes possess this gift. Dictionary.com)

Serendipity is not always about some airy-fairy fantasy tales!  But how does it relate to the more serious matter of your local business?

I was doing a bit of research for an article I was writing on how to select the right ecommerce and affiliate management systems when I was pleasantly surprised by my serendipitous discoveries. 🙂

This is a case of Geographical Serendipity, if such a thing exists.  I was visiting the home of baseball greats, the Durham Bulls, based in Durham, NC.

Sitting at my sister-in-law’s computer, I did a search for comments about how different affiliate management systems are working for those currently using them.  I came across a website where the owner’s comments were quite quotable.  As I dropped a quote from him into my article, I realized that my readers might find his Funny Employee Awards products interesting.  Quickly looking around to see if he offered revenue sharing on his products, to my surprise, I discovered that his business was based right down the street from where I sat (in Durham!).

Serendipitous!

Next, I reviewed some of the neat features offered by one of the online ecommerce systems featured in the article I mentioned I was writing.  Pleased to find out that CoreCommerce had a lucrative affiliate program, I clicked through to sign up for it, and found that the company that manages their affiliate program is a local business based in the neighboring city of Cary, NC  — which shares a border with Durham!

Serendipity!

I just like the word.  And you have to admit, it’s always nice to be surprised with little happenings that move you along on your To-Do list.

Had any serendipity in your day lately?

Tell us about it in the comments below!

Are You Looking for eCommerce Solutions For Your Offline Business?

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

